top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejessaroundtheworld18

Ready... Set... Explore!

Updated: Jun 22, 2019

Europe is such an enchanting place. Every country I visit is just so charming, and yet unique. I feel so fortunate that I have been able to visit so many European countries and that I continue to add to the list. After studying abroad in the UK during the Spring of 2018, I am finally back on this wonderful continent. So far, I have returned to England to visit some of my spectacular friends, and now I am exploring some of Scandinavia, including Finland, Denmark, and Sweden. It has been such a fabulous experience!


In only a couple of days, I will be heading to Sevilla, Spain to start my study abroad journey. In one month, I will begin my education internship, where I will be assist in teaching English to children in a play school in Sevilla. I am especially excited for the education internship because I am extremely passionate about teaching English as an additional language, and I am hopeful that I will pursue a career in this field. It will be such a challenging experience, but yet very transformative. Based on my experiences working with children who do not speak English in South Africa, I recognize the communication challenges when teaching English. As I speak Spanish, I wonder how I will find a balance between the two languages. When do I switch from English to Spanish? Or do I switch? I am looking forward to learning from the classroom teacher to gain this insight. Additionally, I am thrilled to gain insight into another country's education system, as I think we all have lots to learn from international education systems. I cannot wait to learn the unique aspects of education in Spain and how we could potentially implement some of these concepts into U.S. schools. I think that this experience in Sevilla will be completely transformative for my education and will definitely open my eyes to different pedagogical approaches.


As for heading to Sevilla, I am beyond excited to settle into my new European home with my Spanish family. I received some information about where I will be staying for the first part of my trip. My host mom was a preschool teacher, and I just feel so fortunate that I have the opportunity to be in a house with someone who was once in the same field as me, especially because of the education internship I will be completing in the latter half of the semester. Despite my excitement, I am getting anxious about communicating in Spanish. Although I have been studying Spanish for seven years, I still feel like I have so much to learn. I am so hopeful that this experience will boost my confidence in speaking Spanish and support significant learning of the language. Even though I have some nerves about the experience, I know that once I arrive and I practice Spanish consistently, my Spanish abilities will flourish. Through hard work and dedication, anything is possible (including learning a language)! The 23rd (when I arrive in Spain) cannot come soon enough!


Until then, I am currently exploring Copenhagen, Denmark. I think I will head to Sweden tomorrow to see the southern city of Malmo. I love traveling around Europe!



15 views0 comments
bottom of page