top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturejessaroundtheworld18

Celebrating the Red White and Blue... from Across the Pond!

Happy birthday, America! My Spanish students and I had a great time celebrating you last week on the Fourth of July!


On the fourth, I had the opportunity to teach my six and seven year olds all about the United States of America. From America's grand national parks to the spectacular Independence Day celebrations, with a little bit of banjo songs in the middle, I taught the students a ton about American culture. I read the children the book, "Our Great Big Backyard" by Laura Bush and Jenna Bush Hager. Through this book, we explored numerous landmarks and cultural experiences, opening the children's eyes to some of the more authentic regions of the United States. I loved seeing their eyes light up when they saw the stars in Big Bend National Park, and their curiosity about the "fish-hippo," more commonly known as a manatee, sparked so much joy for my country. Although the students already knew a lot about America, this trip to the states hopped over the touristy sites and through some of America's greatest expositions. In the eyes of my children, the United States may be known for the big greasy hamburgers and the banjo music, and we did cover all of this of course, but these students for the first time got to meet the America that I know and love. It was really fabulous to connect the true cultures.


After exploring the states, we eventually got to do my favorite activity: cornhole! This is a traditional game at home in the midwest, and I made our own version out of cardboard and bags of lentil. The students adored the game. It is such a simple and traditional game to me that I don't even think about it, but to my students, it is one of the coolest things in the word. I suppose it's a lot like how I think the Sevilla Cathedral is just remarkable, but the students are used to it so it isn't nearly as exciting. Well... maybe cornhole and the Cathedral are pretty different, but still!



To really celebrate the day though, we had a 4th of July celebration on the patio with hot dogs and chips, watermelon, and ice cream cake. There was tons of dancing, especially to Cotton Eye Joe and Party in the U.S.A., both songs leaving me super sweaty and exhausted afterwards. But, it was so worth it because dancing with the kids was so much fun! It was great playing and dancing with them, it almost made me feel like I was celebrating back at home. Honestly though, I think this party might have been just a little more fun than my normal 4th of July's at home. And that is pretty special.

Our 4th of July Celebratory Cake!


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page